System of a Down

System of a Down is an Armenian-American rock band from southern California, formed in 1994. Founding members are Serj Tankian (lead vocals, keyboards, rhythm guitar), Daron Malakian (vocals, guitar), Shavo Odadjian (bass, background vocals) and John Dolmayan (drums). System of a Down has been nominated for four Grammy Awards and won the award in 2006 for Best Hard Rock Performance for the song “B.Y.O.B.” On August 13, 2006, the group went on indefinite hiatus.