Arctic Monkeys


Arctic Monkeys is an English indie rock band formed in 2002 in High Green. Band members include Alex Turner (lead vocals, guitar), Jamie Cook (guitar), Nick O’Malley (bass guitar, backing vocals), Matt Helders (drums, backing vocals) and John Ashton (keyboard, guitar, backing vocals).

Their debut album, Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not, released in 2006, became the fastest-selling debut album in British music history, surpassing Oasis’s Definitely Maybe and remains the fastest-selling debut album for a band in the UK.